My MS Exercise Program

One of the things I know has been good for me, is this. Physical exercise. One of the first things my neurologist said to me, at maybe the first appointment after he told me I had MS, was that I should exercise. “Move it or Lose it” were his words. At the time, I didn’t really believe exercise was going to happen much.

One day, though, I got out the family Wii Fit machine and started trying out the exercises again. I’d been keen on this form of exercising earlier on, well before I came down with this horrible disease. Back then, I was exercising to try to tone up and lose a bit of weight. Now I had a better reason – to keep being able to get around on my own!

I started the exercising with the Wii Fit machine, and gradually got better and better at doing things. I enjoyed beating my own records, and was thrilled when I was able, occasionally, to beat the records of my husband Graham and son Jake. Before Christmas I got keen on the Wii Fit again, working toward doing 30 minutes of Wii Fit every day.

This is more exercise than Dr Lee had advised, he’s said I should walk for 30 minutes every other day. So I keenly continued the Wii Fit, gradually working up to and then beyond 30 minutes. I tailored my exercise program according to how I was feeling, sometimes just doing easy things, sometimes harder things.

This way, I was able to keep going, paying attention to my body, and what it could do. I’ve had periods of time when the program falls down, and then I switch the machine back on, eventually, and start over again. I’ve noticed I become less able it I go for a few days without “working out”, but it all gets going again, eventually…

I have to confess, I haven’t done any Wii Fit at all fro nearly a week. I think I have a case of Can’t Be Bothered, because it’s so cold and gloomy. It is winter, after all. I’m sure I’ll get back into it again soon, and I’ll go back to reporting my progress to my Facebook Friends. Doing this in the past has helped me to keep on track, and keep motivated. Some people have said they feel inspired by me!

That should be enough to get me going again, but I’m afraid it isn’t working just yet. Perhaps if or when the sun starts shining again, the Wii Fit will get switched on again!

6 thoughts on “My MS Exercise Program

  1. carolyncordon Post author

    As I wrote on my Facebook page today, after a slight lapse in effort, I switched the Wii Fit machine back on. I weighed in – I’d put on 300 grams in the four day absence, and I then did eleven minutes of exercises.

    I did some muscle exercises and some aerobic exercises. That was it. I did Hula Hoop and Basic Step from the Aerobic section, and from the Muscle section I did the Torso Twist, Side Lunge and Rowing Squat.

    I’m trying to beat my pre-MS score at Hula Hoop, but I fear I may not get there. I certainly don’t think I’ll ever beat Graham’s score at Hula Hoop, my husband is the hip twisting hula hoop master!

    Like

    Reply
    1. carolyncordon Post author

      My efforts at that Hula Hoop exercise today were even worse than yesterday! But the machine is still there waiting for me any time I want to give it another go! Today I more than doubled yesterday’s time, I’m happy with that – I’m closing in on my daily target of at least 30 minutes of Wii Fit exercises every day. this is the link to my new blog where I talk about living with MS, as it is for me…

      Like

      Reply
  2. johnlmalone

    I know how you feel Carolyn. I feel the same way about gym: I can’t be bothered atm but thank goodness for the heated pool. I love lap swimming

    Like

    Reply
    1. carolyncordon Post author

      So, I’ve gone past the time I was aiming for, and did 33 minutes of Wii Fit exercises this morning. Some of it was quite easy, but I always try some of the harder exercises, to make sure I wake up my heart as well as get my muscles working too. That stupid hula hoop one though, those hoops just don’t want to twirl around properly! My efforts today were quite lame…

      Like

      Reply
  3. Barb Darling

    Carolyn, you are such a motivator. I only have arthritis and bad bone-on-bone knees but I HATE to exercise except in the water. Getting on the treadmill or walking down the roads near my home are among my least favorite things to do, yet I MUST. Why is it that 60 minutes in the water following my aerobics coach is a snap but 10 minutes on the treadmill an agony?? Doc Joanna has told me I WILL develop diabetes if I don’t get my weight down and my exercise up. So I try my best. Barb Ann from Daily Challenge

    Like

    Reply
    1. carolyncordon Post author

      Hi Barb Ann, I feel for you, the bone on bone knee thing sounds agonising for you… I’m so lucky with my MS – I have no pain at all, especially now that my MS medication is one tablet every day, instead of the one injection in my left or right thigh muscle once a week, which is what I was on after I was diagnosed back in 2010.

      It sounds to me that the swimming will be the better exercise for you. As you can probably see from what I’ve written, I’m enjoying doing my Wii Fit exercises. It’s so much easier to just do something at home…

      Thanks for catching up with me here, and feel free to keep in contact!

      Like

      Reply

Please leave a comment ...

