A Sneak Peek!

So, why am I here, and why have I put this picture here?

Well I’ve written a book, you know, a memoir about my life with Multiple Sclerosis. And people with Multiple Sclerosis need walking sticks, right? No, wrong, actually. People with Multiple Sclerosis (MS) may need walking sticks, or walking canes similar to the two I’m holding in the picture. Or they may need walkers, or even wheelchairs. To be honest, I’ve certainly used the two mobility aids I’m holding triumphantly here. But Mick (the Stick) and Jane (the Cane) are no longer needed by me every day. In fact, I can’t really remember when I last used either of them to help me stay upright and moving.

I’m happy to report that I’m able to move about with no mobility aid at all. I occasionally think afterwards, or during the event, that it would have been handy to have one of these two friends with me. I’ve recently managed some walking and gallery touring without falling victim to the horrible consequences of gravity. Gravity and I have had a rocky relationship over my life. I had my first introduction to its danger with a fall as a child. I have a poem about that incident in my memoir – this is the poem, one written many years after the fall.

Gravity Hurts

At

the age

of seven

I learnt more

about gravity in

my nano–second

fall from our backyard

pine tree than I could ever

learn

from

text

      book

                      or teacher

So that’s a little bit of a sneak preview of my memoir, where I write about my life with MS. There are good things there, bad things, philosophical thoughts and more practical things. I needed to know these things back in 2010, when I was first diagnosed with MS. It took a while, but I’ve been working at learning about MS, and what it’s like to live with MS, ever since my diagnosis. I hope my memoir can be a fun way for people to learn more about what it’s like to live Well with MS.

My life is a good one. I’m able to do most of the things I want to do. Mick and Jane both helped me to walk better when I was diagnosed, and now they’re helping me in another, fun way – they help me to talk about my book! If you have a Mick or Jane of your own, or you know someone who does, I hope my words can assist you to have a fun and enjoyable life!

cover pic

Please leave a comment ...

