Memoir Teetering on the Edge

Well, I think I’ve done it. Today I spent quite a few hours working on my memoir, editing the proof copy sent to me by the printer, and by George, I think I’ve got it!

My memoir is all about my new life since I knew I had MS (multiple sclerosis), and before that too. When you receive a diagnosis of having MS, you can bet you’ve had it for a while already. I was diagnosed with MS in 2010, and my neurologist thinks that, according to my MRI scan, I’d had it for five or so years already.

My neuro saw the scarring of my central nervous system and used that, as well as my symptoms,  to make his diagnosis. MS is all about this scarring, because the scarring is what causes the symptoms one has.

Anyway, at the  moment, I have no active lesions, thanks to medication and my body’s repair system. I’m happy on my current medication (Gilenya – a daily tablet) and I hope I can remain the way I currently am, or better, for a long, long time…

Getting back to my memoir… This memoir is, I hope, going to be useful to people who have MS, and to their family and friends. Having MS can be an isolating thing, where no-one seems to understand what you’re going through, not even you own doctor.

My memoir tracks my journey, talking about my symptoms, about medications, about support and a variety of other things, as they occurred to me in the writing. The memoir is in verse, and there are poems there too. I’m a poet, writing poetry is what I do…

I’m living well with MS and I sincerely hope that my words can assist others to live well with MS, or other illnesses. Life has been tricky, but I’m still enjoying my life. I hope you can enjoy your life too!

“Mick, Jane and Me – Living Well With MS” will be launched at the Tea Tree Gully library on 28 August 3.00 pm. There will yummy food and drinks available, and of course, copies of the book will be available for purchase.  click here for more information about the launch. http://www.teatreegully.sa.gov.au/page.aspx?u=841

If you’re interested in this book, contact me at jeebers@aussiebb.com.au The book price is $20.00 and $2.00 from every sale will go to the MS Society SA & NT.

Please leave a comment ...

