Book Reviews

 

 

 

Image

 

 

Today, someone I know sent me two book reviews she’s written. Both of the books are about MS (multiple sclerosis). One is an autobiography that covers most of the writer’s life, the other is a memoir covering a particular part of the writer’s life, the most recent part, when MS came into her life.

The first book is this one ‘Carry a Big Stick’ by Tim Ferguson. It’s an interesting look at the life of Tim Ferguson. Comedian, entertainer and person living with MS. MS isn’t the main focus of the book. The main focus is the man and his career, ending with the life he now has, since MS came along and changed everything. It’s an enjoyable and honest book.

The second book is a memoir. This means the main focus is on a certain period of a life, rather than the whole life. And just for something a little different, the memoir had poetry in it, and it’s written in verse. There are cartoons too, done by Simon Kneebone, a fine cartoonist with an impressive body of work. This book is ‘Mick, Jane and Me – Living Well With MS’. This is also an interesting and enjoyable book, written with honesty and humour. I can say that, because I know this book better than anyone else, because I wrote it, it’s my book …

Perhaps living with MS, and doing well enough with it, needs humour. I certainly know that MS brings tears for many people. I’ve had a few teary moments myself. But getting up after I fall down, brushing off the dust and getting on with things, seems to work better than dissolving into a tear-stained mess, so that’s what I try to do.

So there are two reviews, but they as yet unpublished. I’m expecting they’ll be coming out in the next issue of the MS Society SA & NT Network magazine. It’s a magazine well worth reading if you have an interest in multiple sclerosis.  http://www.ms.asn.au/publications/Network%20-%20Winter%202013.pdf

Please leave a comment ...

