Best Thing About Having MS

Gardendog's Blog

There are a few really good things about having MS, you know. Getting a disabled parking permit, and a disability support pension are the obvious ones, of course, but there are quite a few other great things about having multiple sclerosis.

One of them, is having an excuse for practically everything:

Forgetting things? Yeah sorry, mild cognitive dysfunction.

Dropping things. Sorry, muscle weakness.

Falling over. Yeah damn muscle weakness again…

I could just go on blaming multiple sclerosis for everything that doesn’t go how I want it to, or anyone else wants it to. Tiredness, being dumb or clumsy, obviously that must be because of the multiple sclerosis. But I don’t want to be labelled as being too dysfunctional. I’m capable of doing things, quite a few things, and I’m actually proud of myself for some of my talents. In view of this, I try not to over-play that line.

View original post 625 more words

2 thoughts on “Best Thing About Having MS

  1. carolyncordon Post author

    This is so funny! I wrote in this post about the dumb things I do sometimes because of my MS, and then, after I wrote the post and posted it, I realised I’d put it on the wrong blog! It should have gone onto this one, not the one I actually put it on, which is supposed to be a blog about gardening, dogs and family life… Ah well, if you can’t laugh at life’s mistakes, you’ll snd yourself nuts!

    Like

    Reply
  2. carolyncordon Post author

    I know of course there are lots of things about having MS that aren’t to be laughed at. Falling over and not being able to do things you used to be able to do can be a terrible trial. I try to always look at the positives in my life though, and I think this helps me to live well …
    My MS at this time isn’t anywhere as bad as MS is for many other people. I realise that, and I feel for those other people. But me being broken down isn’t going to help anyone, and it will harm me and those who love or like me. So I’ll go on being positive and happy for as long as I possibly can!

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment ...

