A Sporting Victory!

In my last blog post, I wrote about my lawn bowls practice the other day, when I was getting some practice in. At the end of that blog post, I mentioned the possibility of playing in the Winter Bowls Season that is happening at the Mallala Bowling Club every Wednesday in the cooler weather, up toward the next pennant bowling season once the weather warms up again after winter, early spring.

Well, on Wednesday at 11.30 I was heading for Mallala after finishing up some work. I already had my lawn bowls in my car, my shoes we adequate, but not perfect, and I was reading to bowl! The waiting around went longer than I’d expected, and there were many bowlers chatting and getting into the mood for some friendly competition.

When the game got started, with me fronting up in the position of ‘lead’, things went well enough. My team hadn’t won the toss, so didn’t go first, but I managed to bowl OK for that first end. My team didn’t win the end though, and so the game went on, with me going second again. The game continued like that for some time, but eventually we managed to win a few times, and I was thrilled with how well I was able to deliver the Jack/Kitty.

We lost that first game, and retired to the clubrooms for more chatting and fun. I still felt pretty good, and certainly didn’t feel the need to find another bowler to step into my spot in the team. Being able to sit down in between ends after I’d had my turn was all I needed, and I felt pretty darn good! We lost that game, but there was another game to play, and I felt very ready for it!

My bowling went well, I was getting the mat more often, and my bowls were getting close to, or touching the Jack/Kitty, just the way they should! The opposition didn’t always leave my bowls, or the Jack/Kitty where I’d put them, but hey, that’s lawn bowls! The game was going well, people were telling me how well I was bowling, and being a member of a team bowling competitively felt soooo good. As it turned out, we lost the game. We only lost it on the final end though, and only by one point. The team was pretty happy with that and so was I. That was last Wednesday, and it’s Tuesday tomorrow, and then Wednesday again. I’m definitely keen to play Winter Bowls again!

We’ll see how it goes – will I bowl even better next time, or was last Wednesday a fluke? Time will tell!

One thought on “A Sporting Victory!

  1. carolyncordon Post author

    As it’s turned out, after discussion with my husband/carer this morning, I’ve decided to stay home today, and not do the lawn bowls. Hubby thought it might get too hot for me in the sun if I play. I have MS (multiple sclerosis) and if I’m too hot, some of my symptoms can come back – muscle weakness being the worst. It’s supposed to get to 23 degrees in Adelaide, which will probably be 26 or more in Mallala in the shade, and playing bowls would mean being in the sun for a proportion of the time a game takes. So I’ve decided today will be a day of working on my novel instead. So far, ‘working on my novel’ has involved some search for my USB memory stick to use to transfer files from various things to my desk top computer. Can’t find my memory stick, so I’ll have to do something else. Maybe just email the files to the family’s email address…
    Hmm, I’d better get on with it. I heard something on the radio that seems relevant to my novel, must research it further. Coffee first, research, file transfer, WRITE!

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment ...

