Next (Careful) Step – Study!

OK, so if I feel I have valuable skills, and I want to be able to use them to help others, what is my next step toward helping others on a formal basis? I’ve written about the most important things that have impacted my life in bad ways, and worked toward making the bad times better. I know the two different books I wrote about these two experiences have helped others.

The first of these self-published books was my first poetry collection “damaged children Precious Gems”, a collection focussing on child abuse and other sexual abuse. In spite of the subject matter, the collection is an inspiring look at my journey from being a victim to being a survivor. I have had lovely responses from others who have also suffered, and have been helped by my words.

The other book, more recently published, is “Mick, Jane and Me – Living Well With MS”. This book was launched last year. It is a memoir talking about being diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. It was written in verse, and has poems I wrote about relevant things. It also has cartoons, lovey cartoons opening each chapter, by cartoonist Simon Kneebone. Again, people have told me they have gained comfort from reading my words.

My next step is not going to be another book; my next step is going to be continuing my schooling. I have completed Community Service Work Cert IV at TAFE, and in July I am going to commence studying for the Diploma of Counselling, also at TAFE. I feel I was always going to end up being a counsellor, and it feels good to have begun the process of becoming one. I’ve let this be known to others, family and friends, and the general feeling is that I will be well suited to doing this.

So that’s it – no more spending hours on Facebook and Twitter, it will be study, study, study! I’m excited about this and looking forward to attending classes again.

2 thoughts on “Next (Careful) Step – Study!

  1. Marie Bryan

    I’m delighted to see that you’re moving ahead with this, Carolyn! I just know in my bones that you will be a wonderful counsellor.

    Like

    Reply
    1. carolyncordon Post author

      Thank you Marie, I feel in my own bones too. I’ve been trying to listen without judgement for the past few years (Unless the subject is something I’m personally passionate about).
      Just listening to someone, is a gift that can be difficult to learn for some. Listening without judging – considering the truth of what you hear.

      Like

      Reply

Please leave a comment ...

