Self Promotion Without Going Too Far!

OK, so I’ve written a book, a book I think is a good one. A book others have told me they found inspirational. Not only did I write the book, but I self published the book, and I am now faced with the task of promoting and selling the book.

That book is the one I created this blog to help to promote the book. “Mick, Jane and Me – Living Well With MS” is that book. It’s a memoir I felt I had to write to fill a gap in publishing. When I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (MS), I looked for a book that would tell me what it was actually like to have this disease. I couldn’t find the book I needed to have, so I wrote this book, the book I wanted and needed.

I received assistance to produce this book – I was awarded a MS Choice prize, which involved the MS Society SA & NT’s publisher Centreprint printing my first print run. I sold all of those books, and had enough money to donate $2 from each book to the Society. There was also enough money for left for me to pay for another print run. So far, I’ve almost made enough money to make another donation to the MS Society SA & NT for the second print run.

Now, I’m a  self-publisher, which means it’s also my role to be a self-promoter. This self promotion doesn’t come naturally to me, and I’m sure many other people would say the same. If you have a book published by a trade publisher, they are responsible for most of the book promotion. When you self-promote though, it’s all up to you.

I carry a copy of each of my self-published books with me when I go out. If I have my handbag, I have my books. If I’m in my car, I have my books. I still find it a little embarrassing though, when I go through the process of selling a copy of my book. I’m not embarrassed about the book, I’m proud of myself for writing it and publishing it. I consider it to be a fine book.

I know though, that if I want to find homes for these copies, I have to tell people about the book, so when the opportunity comes up, I’ll talk to people about the book, and sign a copy for them, if they want one. I sold a copy today in fact, and had to say ‘No’ to the person who wanted to pay me too much for their copy. I’ve sold copies for varying amounts, and given some away for free.

I can honestly say I’ve never pushed anyone to buy a book, and I know I have no need to be embarrassed about being a writer. I’m still a little shy about the whole thing though. I hope I help other people to learn more about MS, through reading this memoir. I believe that is the case, and I hope I can soon get over the stupid embarrassment I feel. A good book is worthy of an honest price.

2 thoughts on “Self Promotion Without Going Too Far!

  1. Marie Bryan

    I know you know you have no reason to be embarrassed about the selling of your book, but it’s still hard not to feel a little twinge. Also, I’m sure the people who have bought and benefitted from your work are doing some promotion for you too. And that reminds me that I have never properly thanked you for the copies of “Dig It!” that you so kindly posted to the US. They have all been placed in appreciative hands, and you should be receiving a little correspondence from Blois in thanks. You can put me down as one of your “sales agents”! Bises, Marie

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment ...

