Being Kind to Self

I could have a real go at myself about letting my Wii Fit exercise program fail in the second week. I could call myself a loser, and wonder why I even bother if I’m not going to stick with the plan. I could wonder why I bother trying to do anything, I’m so useless …

Yes I could do that, but when I look at the reality, I’m actually doing lots of interesting things, things that are giving others hope and enjoyment. Useful things for me, my friends, and the broader community. I am a good person, doing good things. I’m just not good at sticking to an exercise program – no dramas!

I know being active is good for me. I know the more I use my body, the better able I will be in using my body. There are lots of ways of ‘using my body’ though, and a regimented exercise program seems to not be the perfect fit for me at the moment. That’s OK, it’s not the end of the world.

I am being kind to myself, knowing this is not going to make me move more. but knowing also that kicking myself isn’t going to help either. Yesterday I walked more than I usually do. Today I’ve done my little daily exercise that is always emailed to me. I am committed to doing this little Daily Challenges, with this program: http://meyouhealth.com/

I love this, it’s an easy commitment, and I’ve made great connections with others from around the world. Sometimes I play with the given exercise, to make it fit with me and my life, it doesn’t matter – I’m a creative person, being creative with my exercise challenges is fine!

So the point of this little article is this – Life happens, and the most any of us can do is to deal with what life gives us in the best way we can manage. Sometimes we’ll do a fine job, other times it will be far less than fine. As long as we’re doing the best we can at that moment, that’s all we or anyone else can expect!

2 thoughts on “Being Kind to Self

Please leave a comment ...

