Barometric Pressure and Multiple Sclerosis

If you Google both barometric pressure and multiple sclerosis, you will get a lot of hits. A lot of the articles on Google are personal comments, indicating that they are, or seem to be affected by changes in the pressure, whether high or low.

I haven’t found any scientific articles in my cursory look into the subject, but I certainly feel I am affected by this. Just before the rain comes in, and the pressure lowers, I feel like I am more affected, and feel weaker.

These things are often felt by many sufferers before there is any scientific evidence uncovered to verify our feelings and ideas. Should we be concerned about this? After all, we’re the ones who have MS, not the scientists!

Well, yes, I think we do in fact need to be concerned about this. There is such a thing as herd mentality, where people tend to go along with the most important people, agreeing with them on issues, and believing the same things they believe.

Does this apply to this circumstance? I have seen a group of comments about barometric pressure on social media, and I have decided that, yes, this affects me too. Thinking about it in a more scientific way now though, I wonder … My head and sinuses feel heavy. Am I imagining that because others are mentioning the current low pressure, and that they are feeling affected? Who knows.

There are many examples given on many sites on the internet, some personal, some nonsensical, some scientific. I’ll go with the scientific, such as this one. If you look at it, we will see many historical examples of mob mentality, where people follow along with others, no matter what. Not wanting to stand out can be an issue, that explains some of this, and also perhaps wanting an explanation for something that is happening to you.

Of course, for some things, there isn’t really an explanation, and some things just happen because of a combination of circumstances, that may never happen in quite the same way again. Humans like to have reasons, and will often snatch at silly ones, because they don’t want to believe the is no actual reason. Sometimes things just happen.

So what do you think about this? Herd mentality? Coincidence? Or truth? I’d love to hear your thoughts about this … Leave a comment!above the fish pond

 

14 thoughts on “Barometric Pressure and Multiple Sclerosis

  1. Belinda Broughton

    No idea, but one thing’s for sure, there’s plenty scientists don’t know and, often enough, they have to back track on what has become accepted wisdom. Also they often discover ‘wives tales’ to have some grounding.
    We do have to be careful though and try to work out what is our empirical evidence and what is the result of suggestion.

    Like

    Reply
    1. carolyncordon Post author

      Yes Belinda, that’s certainly true. If you hear something often enough, it takes on the persona of truth. As thinking people, it’s important to find the actual truth, and yes, the official voice whether scientific or medical, can sometimes find the reasons why those ‘old wives’ got things right.

      I’m working hard at trying to discover the truths about this crazy incurable chronic illness, how the things others talk about might help me, which things are probably combinations of pure luck and wishful thinking, whether my situation is just plain luck, or whether the powers of positive thinking combined with living a relatively healthy life in terms of diet and physical activity are actually helping me – which I certainly feel is probably true, and science backs me up on that to some extent.

      It’s interesting stuff!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Barometric Pressure and Multiple Sclerosis – Diary of a MAD MS'er!

  3. toni1964blog

    My aunt has really bad arthritis and she said the same thing about the atmospheric pressure and barometer….I think maybe it’s a real thing! She really does feel worse before rain or snow and even hot weather sometimes.

    Like

    Reply
  4. carolyncordon Post author

    The hot and humid weather we’ve been having in South Australia is certainly not helping me, that’s for sure! I wish summer would go away and let autumn arrive!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Diary of a Mad MS'er

    they say the same about barometric pressure and migraines…I think there is a lot of truth to it. Heck, I think the full moon ABSOLUTELY has an effect on us as far as our mental state of minds. It’s interesting to read what “doctor Google” has to say on that as well. I thought I was crazy when I kept having issues during a full moon (3 days leading up to it and up to 3 days after) but after scouring the internet I see I’m not the only one and that there is some scientific evidence to that “wives tale” as well!

    Like

    Reply
    1. carolyncordon Post author

      That’s interesting. Of course you can find all kinds of crazy things online, so who really knows. But if we are all unique, who’s to say whether or not we all have our own truths? I get a little excited when I see the full moon, it lifts my spirits in a slightly loopy way, when I actually see it up there, big and round, dominating the sky …

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. rob jones

    My sister has MS and has shooting electric shocks every 2 hours of her life …….. she goes in a barometric chamber for oxygen twice a week for an hour at 2 x atmospheric pressure. Her pain goes when she is in the chamber.
    If you have any knowledge that might help please mail me at robjones3123@gmail.com

    Thanks to all Rob

    Like

    Reply
  7. Cbrown

    Not sure about exacerbation of Ms symptoms but air pressure changes effect sinus pressure and joint pain. I began making the connection 2 years before I thought to Google it, which helped confirm my theory.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Lupe

    Yes I definitely think air pressure affects it. Sometimes I am walking perfectly fine and then the weather changes suddenly and I can no longer walk. I found this page because I wanted to see if there was anything on air pressure and MS.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Brittney

    I am suffering for 2 years with fatigue . I went to the family dr and all my blood work came back normal except vit d was too low. In the last year I have been noticing my fatigue, pain body aches , numbness in foot with tingling , feelings of being drunk, trouble putting my words together are primarily linked to the weather and barometric pressure. When the dew point goes above 36 is when all the symptoms start when the dew point is under 36 they start to resolve. This last weekend the barometric pressure dropped rapidly due to a wind storm and the dew point rose all my symptoms started again with horrible body aches. I waited 3 months for an appointment with a MS neurologist and she seemed not too interested in my association between symptoms and the humidity/ dew point/ barometric pressure . She said MS was not associated with humidity and only associated with heat causing exacerbated symptoms. ( although everywhere I read states otherwise ) She did order a MRI so we will see how that goes. I am so frustrated I just ordered a small dehumidifier to see if that helps. I just feel so lost,and confused.

    Like

    Reply
    1. carolyncordon Post author

      Oh Brittney, what an ignorant response from that ‘expert’. You own lived experience is an important clue into your own health. Just because that medical person doesn’t know about something, doesn’t mean it isn’t true. Many people who have MS will state that the humidity is far worse for them that cooler and drier weather. Although there are some people (A smaller number) who seem to love humid weather. The only ones I actually know who say this mention holidays if humid countries being great for them and I suspect being on holidays is part of why they feel great as well …

      Your symptoms certainly sound like solid clues that you may have MS … BEst of luck with it all, keep cool, keep as active as possible, and overall, stay positive … Life can continue on well, even with MS!

      Like

      Reply

Please leave a comment ...

