The Things You Do

When you have a chronic illness, sometimes you feel there’s nothing you can do about it, beyond taking the medication prescribed for you to take. I take my medication (Gilenya), but I’m certainly not leaving it at that. I have my own ways to keep the multiple sclerosis at bay.

My many-part process combines a good nutritional diet (vegetables and fruit, not too many saturated fats, seeds and nuts, some grains, enough dairy). I also stay happy with my life, active in my community and doing lots of things that bring me satisfaction – writing, being with my family and friends. While I don’t have a belief in a god, I believe in doing good for myself and others whenever I can, and I have a faith in the ability of Nature to keep things going. aleppo pine

I also work toward a good level of exercise. Our family has a Wii Fit machine, and I use this machine to help me do some active things, well, I try to anyway. It’s one of those things that I do in fits and starts. Some months are better than other months …

Today, after a 13 day absence, I switched on the Wii Fit Machine and did the dreaded weigh in. Hmm, I really haven’t been over indulging in cakes and things when I’m being the Writer-in-Residence at Poetic Justice Cafe Gallery in Gawler, honest. But the scales hint at the opposite. It’s muscles, it must be the muscles. Even though I haven’t done the Wii Fit, I have done my hand weights almost every day since I got them on my birthday earlier this month …
 
So some of that unwanted weight is actually muscle, which is a good weight to have. Right? My weight is still within the ideal range, according to the Wii Fit machine, but it thinks my BMI should be lower. Stupid machine.
 
Anyway, I did 30 minutes of Wii Fit exercises today, as I said, after not doing any for 13 days. I am pleased with myself for that, and hope to continue it more often. Three times a week would be good, four times a week better, and at least once a week should be the absolute minimum. So it didn’t happen the past fortnight, obviously, but I will try to make sure it does happen this time!

Do you have MS, and have an exercise program that works for you? I’d love to hear about it!
Please leave a comment ...

