Promises Made and Kept

My last blog post dealt with me exercising, as I know is good for me. I know more exercise is good for most people. It’s particularly important for those of us with Multiple Sclerosis – in the past, way before I ever had it, people were advised to stay in bed and not do much at all. Fortunately that has been proven to be wrong, and now people with MS get out there and do all kinds of amazing things.

I’m not into doing amazing things in regards to physical exertion, walking a little bit and doing the Wii Fit exercises are about as physical as I usually get. I’m much more into mental things, looking at the trees and the sky, thing about the meaning of life, writing and that kind of thing. But keeping fit is good for my body, and if it’s good for my body, it’s good for all of me, head, heart and spirit too.

above the fish pond

So the news is that I have done the Wii Fit program all week, and I have plans for the following days and weeks, and I hope months. I am happy with myself about that, proud of myself in fact. It isn’t all good news though. Life is like that, with the good things can be bad things too. You may not know why bad things happen, and sometimes there is no reason to be found, it just happened, and that’s all there is to know.

My recent Wii Fit related ‘bad’ thing is like that, sort of. When I really think about it I suppose I can see some pointers as to the reason, but not the whole of it, it’s only a partial thing. This ‘bad’ thing was the result of my weigh-in yesterday. I got ready and stepped onto the balance board, followed the instructions and then disaster! Oh dear, how could that be what I weigh? The machine doesn’t lie though, and if that’s what it was, that’s what I had to believe.

In a way, it was good to see that I’d put on some extra weight. It’s not like I’m that much overweight and I don’t have that much weight to lose to get back to the ‘Ideal’ weight range. But the shock of this inspired me and I did a far more aerobic focused workout than I usually do. I did the free step, and did it with the pace at the highest level. I did jogging, and then the jogging where you have to report back on what you’ve seen. Then I did two of the muscle exercises, one of them twice. I did another exercise, ah yes, the one where you’re a bird and you have to flap your arms and lean slightly forward to land and take off until you get to the end.

I weighed in again at the end, just out of interest. The screen indicated I’d lost a bit of weight, but I stuck with the initial weight. I can help me keep on track perhaps, if I start to get complacent again. I think that’s what is was, I felt I could eat more, just because I was exercising. It was silly, because I knew the meal I had on Thursday night was more than I should have had to eat. I didn’t eat all of it, but I could and should have stopped eating earlier.

Anyway, I will work hard at finding enough time on enough days in every week to get my weight down and keep it down. My pants will like that, and I will like it too! More vegetables, more salad, fewer meat meals, and the Wii Fit exercise at least three times a week, and I should be good again in a jiffy! If I’m not, I will try to remember to mention it here …

I am extremely proud of myself for my exercise done yesterday – as far as I can remember, it was my highest calorie used up for the session – close to 100! Yay!

Please leave a comment ...

