Pain and Multiple Sclerosis

I was thinking about the pain thing yesterday, and can honestly say that I don’t feel any pain from MS most of the time. Discomfort, yes, from tingling and numbness in hands, legs and feet. Apart from pain from falling over, which is probably related to the MS, I only get and very occasionally only, a sharp but brief pain that shoots through and then goes, taking only a few seconds.

My main pain is the pain from realising I am slowly losing the plot with my brain – memory issues, forgetting words, slight confusion if I get stressed. I fight hard to keep my brain going, and hope I can keep on to of things for many more years. My fear is that that may not happen the way I want it to.

This thought was prompted from reading yesterday a list of levels of MS Pain on the Facebook page of the MS Society of SA & NT. This page is for those of us who have MS and sometimes carers/family. It’s a good group, where people feel safe when they talk honestly about their MS lives. Many friendships have been made and strengthened on the FB page, and finding friends who truly understand is a wonderful thing.

Many people who have MS are advised by their neurologist early on after they have their diagnosis, that there is no pain from MS. Certainly many people who have MS dispute this, and many have changed their neurologist after being told this, when their experience is quite different.

Anyway, when I read the list on that page, and saw the comments there, it reminded me that my experience is different from what people were writing about there. I almost posted the first paragraph in this piece of this post there on the Facebook page, but decided to step away from the discussion, and take it to this Blogsite (which needed another post, because I’ve been too distracted by other things to write for). Anyway, this is how pain and MS are for me and I welcome comments here from others who have thoughts on the question of pain.

Please leave a comment ...

