Whether the Weather …

Most people have a preference for one season over another, or one kind of weather conditions over others. ‘Good weather’ can mean different things to different people, depending on what they like …

Most people with Multiple Sclerosis (MS) have more problems with handling the heat than they have with cold weather. Higher temperatures usually mean MSers stay indoors with the air conditioner going, and if they have to go out, they have air con on in the car and head for air conditioners or at least shade wherever they have to go. I’m certainly one of those people.

aleppo pine

If the temperature where I am gets up over thirty, I usually start to feel weaker and a bit ‘muddle-headed’. My memory is affected and I feel unable to think properly. Having a cool drink, and cooling myself down in some way is needed before I begin to feel more ‘normal’ again. I know all of this and I do my best to make sure it doesn’t happen to me, so I keep an eye on weather forecasts and generally I stay at home where it”s cool or only go out on hot days when I know the place I’m going to will be cool enough, or that at least cool drinks will be available.

One thing I’ve found is that barometric pressure changes seem to have some kind of effect on me. It’s difficult to describe, but I feel unsettled and weak then too. Stress is probably my biggest thing that really makes my MS symptoms kick in. If something is stressing me out, I feel like I’m going into melt-down, and I have to get out of the situation as soon as possible.

Fortunately I am good at avoiding stress. I have a laid back, ‘she’ll be right’ attitude to life, which, put together to my mostly mindful attitude to things, keeps the stress level low most of the time. Bad things can happen, but good things happen too, and the bad things are rarely as bad as they might have been, so I remember that and stay calm, almost always.

I think this kind of attitude is good for everybody, not just those of us with MS. I’d be interested in knowing how others feel about this … Please leave a comment below:

Please leave a comment ...

