Celebrate Your Victories

If you focus on the bad things that happen in your life, stressing about the bad stuff all of the time, you won’t be leading a good life. You will be leading a crappy life instead. A life full of unhappiness and tears. Is that the kind of life you want to live? I doubt it. Only strange people want that kind of life.

Most people want to live a good life, a life with successes, and lots of fun and happy things happening. Is this the kind of life you want to live? I know it’s the kind of life I want. In fact, I’m happy to tell you that almost all of the time, that’s the kind of life I live. A life with lots of fun and happiness.

filename - Copy

I have great family and friends to share my life and my good times. These wonderful people are also there to help me when the bad times come. Even with my fun and happy life, there are still times where bad stuff happens. Sickness, money troubles – these things happen to us all, no matter how happy we want to be.

But stressing with things can never stop them happening. Planning for possible bad things is a completely different thing to stressing about them. Planning can certainly prevent some things from happening. Sitting around being unhappy about your past won’t stop bad things happening either. The bad things in life can actually be good things, even if it doesn’t seem like it at the time.

Eventually the bad thing will pass, and good times will be there again. If you use your memory of the bad thing to make plans that will stop it from happening again, you are putting down insurance to help you when the bad times are lurking nearby. You can think about what went wrong last time, and do things to prevent it from happening again.

This is one way to guarantee happiness. Another way to get more happiness in your life is to celebrate your victories. If you don’t think you have victories, think again. There are lots and lots of things you can celebrate. Did you get up this morning and get that needed thing done? Hip Hip Hooray! Well done you! It can be as simple as that. I have multiple sclerosis, and every time I make it to the toilet in time, with no messy or wet accidents, Hooray to me too.

It may seem a strange thing to celebrate, but believe me if you’re in the same situations as me, you probably understand! I celebrate extra bits of exercise I do too. I’m currently (yet again) doing an exercise program with our family Wii Fit machine. Last week I did the program the way I’ve planned it, and I was so happy that I told my friends on FaceBook about it. In the process, I managed to find an exercise buddy, who is working on her fitness too. We keep an idea on each other on Facebook, and it’s another incentive to do the exercise.

Letting friends know about your successes will make them happy too, if they truly are your friend. If there are people pretending to be your friend, you can spot them by the way they react to the things you’re celebrating. And getting rid of people like that from your life, well that’s worth celebrating too!

Do you do anything special when good things happen in your life? I’d live to here about what you do, leave a comment then everyone can be happy with you!

8 thoughts on “Celebrate Your Victories

  1. Grae MacKinnon

    I praise God and dance. I also praise him in the tough times. I find that thanking him for the good things I still have, and the lesson I will learn from the situation helps me keep my joy and cope.
    You are so right with this Carolyn. Staying positive is the key. Negativity is just destructive and harmful to health.

    Like

    Reply
      1. carolyncordon Post author

        Thank you Belinda – I’m not sure what being an inspiration is supposed to feel like, but I know I get good feelings for writing and doing things that help other people. Thank you so much for your own words …

        Liked by 1 person

    1. carolyncordon Post author

      What is a victory can very much depend on what challenges your life gives you. Sometimes getting to the toilet ‘in time’ can feel like a major victory! I’ve certainly learned to lower the bar for myself sometimes. Even so, those victories, where I beat what my silly body is doing, or failing to do – that certainly is a victory!

      Like

      Reply

Please leave a comment ...

