Did the Machine Tell a Lie?

hula hoop for blogToday I switched on the Wii Fit machine. The machine keeps track on us, and tells us how long it’s been since our last visit, when we switch the machine on and sign in. So that lengthy time the machine told me was not a surprise. What did surprise me though, was my weight.

I know my weigh-in result is probably actually correct, but I prefer to believe the machine told a fib cos it’s annoyed at my lengthy absence … I haven’t been overdoing the fattening food, and I actually felt I’d been doing quite well with the nutritional quality of what I’ve been eating, these past weeks.

But this has reminded me about the balance – calories in (food and drink) versus calories out (exercise and general moving around). When I saw how long I’ve been away from the Wii Fit, and thought about how I’ve been doing lots of just sitting around and not really doing much physical stuff at all, well, that told me the truth. I’ve been a lazy sit around silly!

It’s not all bad though. The weigh-in result prompted me to actually have a Wii Fit work out as well as just the weigh-in, which had been what I’d been planning to do. Instead I exercised for over half an hour and burned up more than 100 calories doing it. As long as I can keep up doing this a couple or a few times a week, for a couple of months, I’ll be headed for a toned up winter, instead of a chubby winter … And that’s what I want, toned up and stronger! Better strength, means my body can work harder to keep me moving!

I’m very conscious of my own balance, and I certainly don’t want any more trips and falls – my right knee still has bruising from my last fall. I can’t even remember the details of that fall now, I just remember it hurt!

So I’m headed for a no fall, toned and terrific Winter this year! Do you have any good ways to keep toned and terrific? I’d love to know what works for you!

3 thoughts on “Did the Machine Tell a Lie?

  1. Pingback: Did the Machine Tell a Lie? | Mick, Jane and Me

  2. johnlmalone

    what works for me, Carolyn, is going to the gym twice a week and the pool once a week [ about 20 laps ] and drinking good red wine 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. carolyncordon Post author

    My exercise program is secondary to my writing related stuff at the moment, particularly the Festival our writing group are launching the program for tomorrow at the P/A Hotel. I keep my slim-enough figure by being careful with calories, and trying to get in incidental bits of walking when I can … After July, perhaps some actual exercise might happen.

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment ...

