Some Good News About My Life …

We’ll ignore the fact that this blog should have already had information about the challenge I’m going to be writing here about, but c’est la vie! I have too many blogs, and I ignore most of them, most of the time, oh well …

Anyway, here is the good news – I’ve set myself a challenge to walk to a particular place, and back again – a bridge on Redbanks Road, that goes over the Light River close to my home. It’s an easy drive, just up the road we live on, to the T junction, turn left, and within a few minutes, and there’s the bridge. Then find a spot to turn, and come back home again. Easy!

But to walk that distance isn’t so easy, especially considering I have MS (Multiple Sclerosis), and I’m not a regular distance walker. But I’ve been going to exercise classes put on by the MS Society of SA & NT, and one of the physios there was talking about setting ‘SMART’ goals, goals of something in our lives, not necessarily of a physical nature, but just something that we may want to achieve.

I thought about that on my way home, and the next day, and finally came up with the challenge to walk to that bridge, and back home again. Now, while I have been walking fairly regularly, it’s only been for around 2500 steps, but by my calculations, this walk to the bridge and back would be 10000 steps. Wowee, that far?

Yes that far. I can’t remember walking that far, not recently any way, or not since MS came into my life … But I’m going quite well with my MS – may medication, is going well for me, my positive attitude to life, the healthy food my husband, who is also my carer, has been cooking for us.

So I looked into this SMART Goals thing, and found out what the letters S.M.A.R.and T. stand for and then wrote about it, to work out whether my idea would meet what a SMART Goal actually is. The letters relate to the goal being:
Specific
Measurable
Attainable
Relevant
Time-bound

So walking to that particular spot is certainly specific and measurable, and as a person with MS, and wishing to limit my trips and falls, by being fitter, and stronger particularly with my legs, it’s definitely relevant. And after some research online, I gave myself eight weeks to get fitter, by slowly increasing my walking I already do, and slowly work up to the required distance.

I hoped this would increase my fitness, and felt this would mean the goal was actually attainable. So tick, tick, tick, tick, tick for all of them! The distance I would have to walk is 5.2km, which for me is 10,000 steps. This is by my calculation, and it may not be quite correct, but I think it’s pretty close to it.

So that is my SMART Goal, I feel I can do it, and am in fact already working to make it happen. I may have a Chronic illness, but I also have a belief in myself, a positive attitude to life, and a great support team helping me! I can do whatever I sensibly believe I can do, plus a bit more!

Please leave a comment ...