I’m Baaaack! I Really Should Be Here More Often!

OK, so I’m here, and I want to talk about a new thing I’ve been doing, and also sharing a link to something I wrote previously that I should have posted here! So here’s that link, and I’ll tell you a little bit about it, so you can decide whether you’d like to take a look at it!

So basically the little article is about smething I’ve just begun doing recently, hoping it may take off and make me a popular performer … Such dreams have enabled me to do things I would never have believed I could do, but I’ve done it!

And that something? That something is being a Stand Up Comedian – Being funny in front of an audience! When accomplished comedians do this, they’re doing it to make money, they have agents, or somebody (booking person?), who gets them gigs.

Their people/person will organise a venue for their perfomance if needed, depending on what they’re doing, who booked them, etc. These details quite likely will also be about how much they will receive for doing their act.

I don’t have such a person, and at the moment, I have no thought that I will be paid for any Stand Up gigs I do. I call them gigs, but the reality is far less than the name may indicate. So far, I’ve do about three minutes at a poetry reading, and two twenty minute sessions to small community groups.

I’ve also done my act twice in the town closest to where I live. The first time I had an audience of two people over various days, but only one of htem at a time., both people I already knew, and who knew all about me doing this act, and both of whom have helped me getting organised to do it.

The most recent time, I did the act to a slighly bigger audience, five people, I think or it may have been four … There was one of the people show knew all about me doing this, the others were people who didn’t know me at all, and who I was encouraged to approach and ask if they’d like to see me do my Stand Up Act, or a small part of it anyway.

Those people were police officers, working at that town because there was a community event happening, with a road closure, and far more people around than usual. Things were well under control, and they seemed to appreciate the chance for something a little bit different.

So, persuaded by my convincer, I got out my phone, where there is a poem for my Stand Up character “Nanna Carreau”, to perform, and perform it I did. It was lovely to see the smiles, and even laughter in my audience, and I enjoyed doing the performance, as much as they enjoyed watching me perform it!

Anyway, In the link (here it is again) is another poem I’m written for that Stand Up Comedian I perform as. The possible audience for that poem would be a particular group of people, rather than members of the public in general, so yesterday’s event would not have been the right time of place for that one.

But this blogsite mentioned, being about Multiple Sclerosis, is entirely the corrct place for that article and the poem there. You have to pick your audience, and play to who they are, and what will be relatable for them! Being relatable is, or seems to be, the next new good thing to be and do! Relatability means you know and understand the truth of a thing, and you can convey that in the way you do whatever it is you’re doing, for a particular group/audience/crowd/reader.

And speaking of people who are relatable, the event I was at, as Nanna Carreau yesterday, was a classic car event, with quite a few classic cars there on show, and there was a man present who knows much about cars, Grand Prix Flag Waver Glen Dix!

This man is an Australian icon of motorsport, and yes he was there in his usual yellow jacket, waving that checkered flag for the lovely cars, and the exciting thing for me was I was able to snap some photos of Glen, including this one, which I love!

So was that Glen Dix’s brush with fame, being that close to Nanna Carreau, or was it Nanna Carreau’s brush with fame being so close to Glen Dix? Or was it a bit of both? As a clutcher at straws, I’ll say it was a bit of both! I’m going to write it up for the Mallala Crossroad Chronicle as that, probably!

All in good fun, of course, and Nanna Carreau may well write a short story for her collection of poems and prose pieces I’m currently working on. Nanna Carreau is going to make me famous! (As soon as I manage to make Nanna Carreau famous)!

Please leave a comment ...